My crazy family

In one word: Crazy

In one word: Crazy

This is my family.
Well it’s two families, the Abinante and Campos families, but my family can be quite crazy just by them selves if they want to. I have my mom, my dad and four siblings! They can get on my nerves.
 
A week ago, everyone in my family except me went to Texas, and needless to say, things have been very peaceful at home. Unfortunately, they come back tomorrow… Oh no!
 
I know God says, “Love is patient, love is kind… it is not easily angered.” (1 Corinthians 13:4-5)  but it’s hard to have patience. Here is a verse that I find comforting for a number of reasons.
 
James 1:2
My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.
 
It sure does feel like a trial when five voices around me are singing and yelling and yakking away constantly, but Paul encourages us to count it all joy. In a nutshell, we need trials to make us perfect. Yes I can see that by being patient (i.e. long-suffering,) I would eventually develop an ear to tune out the noise and coexist, and as a result I would become a better person… OK Paul, that is true.
 
Additionally, seeing our “trial” from Paul’s perspective brings into reality that our trial is not really that bad. I could think of more painful things that would deserve to be called trials. For example, loosing a job, and wondering if the rent will get paid, is a little worse. Or getting thrown in jail for our views like Paul… That’s a whole lot worse.
 
If we begin to be grateful that our lives aren’t truly as bad as they seem, then conversely, gratitude can lead us to seeing the good in our situation that we often overlook. When I am grateful for my family, I can see that even if they bother me, they still love me, listen to me, bring out the best in me, challenge me and are there to lift me up. They are good people and I do need them. In order to see that however, I have to get into a gratitude mindset.
 
I think everyone would have a better life by focusing on what’s right instead of what’s wrong. The positive instead of the negative. And that’s biblical too.
 
Philippians 4:8
Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.
 
So now that I’ve taken just a few minutes to be grateful for my family, I can truthfully say I’m glad they’re coming home.
About Jacob Abinante

I am a firm believer, and I have found much success applying the truths from the Bible to my life. I am an artist; a singer, songwriter and musician. I love biking and playing table tennis in my free time. I have an adorable dog named Samson and a family of 7.
This entry was posted in Bible, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

