One day of the week

Fun times :)

Fun times ūüôā

I take one day of the week to do a complete shut down. It’s usually Sundays, but sometimes it’s Mondays…

I enjoy, for example, having people over, like my neighbor, Dakota. (He’s the one jumping in the picture.) We can just chill for one day of the week, and have fun. I usually stay home except for church and maybe going to the beach. This day of rest gives my body time to recuperate, and maybe more importantly, it gives my mind time to rest.

Of course there is a biblical reason for this.

Exodus 20:8-11

8 “Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. 9 Six days you shall labor and do all your work, 10 but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, neither you, nor your son or daughter, nor your male or female servant, nor your animals, nor any foreigner residing in your towns. 11 For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.

Now this is one of the ten commandments, you know like “Do not murder, do not steal…” So I treat it with the same amount of respect. Just because the government doesn’t enforce this one with the life sentence, doesn’t mean I won’t follow it.

Let me just say this, God has plenty of grace for everyone, so it’s not as if we have to or else. It’s that we get to take a God blessed day of rest from our labors just like God did. That’s what this about. It’s about honoring our bodies, honoring the way God made us and honoring the fact the we are made in the image of the one who crated the universe in six days and rested on the seventh.

I encourage you to do this even simply because it will bless you. Right at the end of verse 11, it says, “Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.” The Lord will bless those who honor the Sabbath.

So just relax and get revitalized. Maybe pull out that Bible and get closer to God, or grow closer to some people. Enjoy it and I will see you on Monday.

About Jacob Abinante

I am a firm believer, and I have found much success applying the truths from the Bible to my life. I am an artist; a singer, songwriter and musician. I love biking and playing table tennis in my free time. I have an adorable dog named Samson and a family of 7.
This entry was posted in Bible, Rest, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

