“Yeah, the King is my friend.”

King's friend

Proverbs 22:11

He who loves purity of heart,
    and whose speech is gracious, will have the king as his friend.

Wow! It’s that easy? Cuz I sure could use a king… Oh but I need to love purity of heart and have gracious speech? Darn it.That’s actually kind of difficult. To love purity of heart means that I have to be pure myself and seek that in others. And gracious speech, well I can’t say some of my favorite things. I don’t know which one is harder.

 

It will take something to accomplish both of these prerequisits, but like most things that are difficult, it will be worth it in the end.

There is similar verse in this chapter, and it tis Proverbs 22:29

Do you see a man skillful in his work?
    He will stand before kings;
    he will not stand before obscure men.

I can see how skillful in work would also be a characteristic of a king’s friend. Conventional wisdom sais, “You have to bring something to the table.”

Let’s look at an example from the Bible where someone with these character traits became a king’s friend. Johnathan was King David’s friend. The bible sais in 1 Samuel 18, “He became one in spirit with David, and he loved him as himself.”

Johnathan loved purity of heart so much that he defied his own father’s evil intentions and fought the cause of the innocent man. He was gracious in speech; he had been raised in a royal court. And he was very skillful in his work as he successfully carried out a lone attack on a Philistine garrison, demonstrating his “prowess and courage as a warrior.” Think about it, that takes some skill.

So Johnathan fits the bill. And he was rewarded for his high acquaintance. In 1 Samuel 23, David made a covenant that he would protect Johnathans family and that Johnathan would be second in command when David became king.

In today’s terms, President elect David promised Johnathan that his family would be protected by the top FBI team and that Johnathan would be vice president during David’s term. That sounds really good to me.

I think it’s safe to conclude that there is great reward in loving purity of heart, having gracious speech and being skillful in your work.

About Jacob Abinante

I am a firm believer, and I have found much success applying the truths from the Bible to my life. I am an artist; a singer, songwriter and musician. I love biking and playing table tennis in my free time. I have an adorable dog named Samson and a family of 7.
This entry was posted in Bible, Success and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

